Connect with us


Kyle Troup in contention for PBA Bowler of the year

7 People. 1 Troup

If you’re a member of the UBA in the Southeast, you know exactly who Kyle Troup is. He’s someone that is well known for taking all sorts of bowling action matches and got VERY high up on the World Championship Series list. Now he’s one of the people who could win the award of PBA Player of the year.

The full article is listed below, care of the PBA Website
(Credit: PBA Announces Nominees for 2021 Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year | PBA)


New York, NY – The Professional Bowlers Association (PBA) is pleased to announce nominees have been selected for the PBA Tour’s four major end-of-season awards – Chris Schenkel PBA Player of the Year, Harry Golden PBA Rookie of the Year, Steve Nagy Sportsmanship Award, and the Tony Reyes Community Service Award.

The 2021 award winners will be announced in December:

Monday, Dec. 13: Tony Reyes Community Service Award
Tuesday, Dec. 14: Steve Nagy Sportsmanship Award
Wednesday, Dec. 15: Harry Golden Rookie of the Year
Thursday, Dec. 16: Chris Schenkel Player of the Year

Player of the Year honors will award the Tour’s top player. This year’s nominees consist of the 2021 season’s top seven earners. Candidates in alphabetical order: are, Australia’s Sam CooleyTom Daugherty of Riverview, Fla., Canada’s Francois LavoieShawn Maldonado of Houston; Anthony Simonsen of Little Elm, Texas; Kyle Troup of Taylorsville, N.C.; and Chris Via of Springfield, Ohio.

The Harry Golden Rookie of the Year honors return after a hiatus in 2020 due to complications created by the COVID-19 pandemic. Rookie players from 2020 are eligible for this year’s honors and nominees in alphabetical order: are, Deo Benard of Henderson, Nev.; Wesley Low Jr. of Palmdale, Calif.; Mexico’s Benjamin MartinezAnthony Neuer of Lewisburg, Pa.; Matt Russo of Fairview Height, Ill.; and Zac Weidman of Indianapolis, Ind.

The Steve Nagy Sportsmanship Award will be given out to the player who has shown exemplary sportsmanship, and the Tony Reyes Award will recognize a PBA member who has done extraordinary community service and/or charitable contributions in the calendar year.

The PBA Player of the Year and the Rookie of the Year will be selected by a panel of veteran bowling writers and the entire PBA membership. The Nagy Sportsmanship Award winner is selected by PBA Tour players who have bowled in at least half of the current season’s tournaments. The Reyes Award recipient is selected by a special panel of PBA leaders.

Last year’s winners of the PBA’s four prestigious awards were Jason Belmonte, Player of the Year; Brad Miller, Nagy Sportsmanship Award, and Danny Wiseman, Tony Reyes Community Service Award. There was no Harry Golden Rookie of the Year for 2020 due to the complications created by the COVID-19 pandemic.

About the PBA
The Professional Bowlers Association (PBA) is the world’s preeminent organization dedicated to the sport of bowling and its professional competition, with thousands of members and millions of fans throughout the world. The PBA plays host to bowling’s biggest tournaments from the PBA Tour, PBA Regional Tour, and PBA50 Tour. In 2020, the PBA launched PBA Jr., a club for elite youth bowlers under the age of 17 and the PBA Pinsiders, a membership for fans of the sport. For more information, please visit


More in News